Byron Georgiou Withdraws from 2012 Senate Race


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 10, 2011
From:  Byron Georgiou

After thoughtful consideration, I have decided to terminate my campaign for the Democratic Party’s 2012 nomination for the United States Senate.

I continue to believe that my background and experience well qualify me to serve in the Senate.  However, at this time, I have concluded that I can more effectively contribute to resolution of the serious economic issues facing our state and nation through my work in the private sector, in the areas of clean energy, healthcare information technology, and broadband development.

I thank my many supporters, my staff, my friends and my family for their confidence in my candidacy.

_____________________________________________

BERKLEY STATEMENT ON BYRON GEORGIOU’S ANNOUNCEMENT

Las Vegas, NV — Shelley Berkley released the following statement today in response to Byron Georgiou’s announcement that he would not seek the U.S. Senate seat in Nevada:

“I have nothing but the utmost respect for Byron Georgiou. He has an impressive record as a businessman and public servant and I know that he will continue to contribute to the betterment of our state and country in the years to come.

My campaign will continue to focus on the number one, two and three priorities for Nevada: jobs, jobs and more jobs. Nevada needs a Senator who will fight to create jobs, protect Medicare and Social Security, and stand up on behalf of our veterans. ”

_____________________________________________

SENATOR REID STATEMENT ON BYRON GEORGIOU’S ANNOUNCEMENT

Washington, DC – Nevada Senator Harry Reid issued this statement following today’s announcement by Byron Georgiou:

“While Byron and I have had our differences in the past, I’m heartened by his decision today.  His is an important voice and perspective on the causes of the Financial Crisis.

“Byron and his fellow Financial Crisis Inquiry Commissioners performed a significant public service by investigating and identifying for the President, the Congress and the American people the causes of the economic crisis that continues to grip our nation.  Their report remains the most comprehensive accounting of the causes of the crisis and what we should do to avoid a repetition.  Byron’s decision allows him to focus even more of his energy, time and considerable talents on what he is obviously very passionate about—ensuring that what happened never happens again.

“Byron has had a diverse and distinguished career in business, law and public service.  I have the highest regard for his professional expertise, and am confident that Byron will continue to contribute to Nevada and America in the years to come.”

