NV Women Respond to Heller Campaign’s “A Woman’s Place is in the House” Button


For Immediate Release

July 6, 2012

ICYMI: Shocking Video HERE

Las Vegas, NV – Nevada women Christine Faber, Teralee Burbank and Edith Byrd released the following statements today responding to Dean Heller’s campaign wearing “a woman’s place is in the house” buttons:

Christine Faber, a small business owner from Las Vegas:

“As a small business owner, I know the challenges that many women face in order to provide for their families.  I worked hard for years to ensure that my family had a roof over their heads and food on the table.  We need a Senator that will fight for greater economic opportunities for the women of Nevada, not someone who discourages women who provide for their families.  Shelley Berkley has proven time and again that she is Nevada’s true champion for women in the workplace, and I know she will continue to be a fighter for us when she is in the United States Senate.”

Teralee Burbank, mother and full time student from Henderson:

“I grew up in a single-parent family where my mother worked as a teacher to put food on the table, pay the mortgage and provide me with every available opportunity.  Growing up, I knew that someday I wanted to do the same for my family. This is why I am working to finish school, and make sure my children have the same opportunities provided to me when I was growing up.  When it comes to who represents my values, and those of so many women across Nevada in Congress, that person is not Dean Heller, whose campaign recently said a women’s place is in the home.  Nevada women deserve better- they deserve someone that will fight for them and their families.”

Edith Byrd, mother, grandmother and US Army Veteran of 25 years from Las Vegas:

“As a mother, grandmother, and Army veteran, I was shocked when I heard the news that Senator Dean Heller’s campaign was caught handing out buttons telling women their place was in the home.  I have nothing but respect for stay-at-home mothers, but the reality is in so many cases, women need to work to help pay the family bills.  Families across Nevada understand this reality, and they deserve a U.S. Senator who also understands this.  That’s why I’m supporting Shelley Berkley this November, because women across Nevada can count on her to support them as they support their families.”

One thought on “NV Women Respond to Heller Campaign’s “A Woman’s Place is in the House” Button

Comments are closed.