On the Horizon … 2018


"I like what I do, so I'll consider it but I like what I do," Sen. Dean Heller said. | Getty
“I like what I do, so I’ll consider it but I like what I do,” Sen. Dean Heller said. | Getty

Dean Heller is the only Republican senator up for re-election in 2018 who serves a state won by both Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton, meaning he’ll be the DSCC’s top target this cycle … if he in fact runs again. But he might instead prefer to run for Nevada’s open governorship, a possibility he now says he will “consider.” That’s a somewhat stronger statement of interest than the last time he spoke publicly about this race back in May, when all he would say is, “I always keep my options open.”

Heller would almost certainly be the GOP’s strongest candidate for governor, but he was fairly hostile to Trump all year, which has almost certainly pissed off a certain segment of Republican primary voters. That could inspire an opponent from the unabashedly racist wing of the party to throw up a roadblock for Heller if he ran for governor, something he likely wouldn’t face if he seeks another term in the Senate.

